Mead School District 354

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Facility Planning Committee

Facilities Planning Committee - On October 24, 2016, the Mead School District Board of Directors authorized the development of a six-year Capital Facilities Plan based on a district-wide needs assessment and the convening of an advisory Facilities Planning Committee to assist in the development of the Capital Facilities Plan.
Process - The Facilities Planning Committee began meeting in early January 2017, and held 15 meetings through May 2, 2017. The committee studied student enrollment projections and the physical condition of existing school and non-school buildings. Each school principal shared building-specific needs and district maintenance and transportation departments explained their facility challenges.
Of significant importance to the committee in making their recommendation was the steady increase in student enrollment over the past ten years (+733 students) and the significant jump of 2,943 students projected by Davis Demographics in the next ten years (2017-2026).
Recommendation - The Facilities Planning Committee recommended five major/flagship projects and a host of miscellaneous projects be presented to voters for their consideration in February 2018.
We extend our sincere thanks to the following Mead patrons for donating their time and serving as members of the Facilities Planning Committee:
Carrie Babcock Kevin Bacon (Co-Chair) Joe Brabeck (Co-Chair)
John Hatcher Lorin Love Colin McGlocklin
Ben Myers Dorothy Sivanish Shelley Thams
Jacques Thibodeaux Dennis Veltri Randy Wilson