Mead School District 354
Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Common Core State Standards

Overview of Common Core State Standards

  • The Common Core is a set of high learning standards in math and English language arts that are designed to better prepare students for success in college, work and life.
  • The standards, which set learning expectations for students at every grade level, have been developed and adopted by 45 states -- unprecedented cooperation in our nation’s history.
  • At every grade level, parents will have a better idea of what their child is expected to know and how they compare to other students across the nation. Until now, every state had different learning standards. Common Core fixes that and raises the bar for learning -- an approach that will help Washington students compete for the quality jobs our state has to offer.

Top 3 things you should know about Common Core

  1. CONSISTENT LEARNING EXPECTATIONS FOR ALL STUDENTS: Before Common Core, what counted as grade-level work in one state might have been different in another. Common Core provides a consistent set of learning standards and expectations for all students so we can truly know how each child is doing in school, no matter where they live.
  2. CLEAR STANDARDS THAT FOCUS ON UNDERSTANDING OVER MEMORIZATION: Common Core goes deeper into fewer topics to ensure a greater understanding of key concepts.
  3. BUILDING THE CRITICAL SKILLS STUDENTS NEED IN THE JOB MARKET: Right now, Washington has 25,000 unfilled jobs for highly-skilled workers – and that number will grow to 50,000 by 2017. Our state has the jobs, but lacks qualified applicants. Common Core focuses on real-world skills that students need to get a job and be competitive in the new economy.