Mead School District 354

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Community Leadership Award

To address overcrowding the Boundary Review Committee was authorized by the Mead School District Board of Directors in June of 2015 to study and make a recommendation for changes to current elementary school boundaries. The committee chair Andy Buell, along with ten other Mead patrons (Tiffany Bond, Leslie Brim, Sarah Bunney, Kris Forgey-Haynie, Kim Kolodrub, Kristi Lupton, Ryan Raines, Kathy Russell, Joyce Vierra and Dani Wurst) started meeting in September 2015. The group met several times throughout the fall and winter. Guiding principles for their work included: 1) balance elementary enrollment, 2) create growth schools and 3) minimize disturbance. A resident from each of the current elementary school boundaries served on the committee.
After careful consideration of the current feeder school system, geographic boundaries, contiguous neighborhoods, school bus transportation, socio-economic diversity and the need for a 5-7 year plan duration, the committee presented a well-reasoned, viable recommendation to the Board of Directors on February 8, 2016. This recommendation provides a solid framework for any boundary change the school board may adopt in the future.